• News by Country

  • What kind of News

China extends visa-free travel for 12 countries

China has extended visa-free travel for citizens of 12 countries until 31 December 2025.

Passport holders of Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, Spain and Switzerland can continue to enjoy visa exempt status when staying up to 15 days for tourism, business, family visiting friends and family or transit.

The visa exemption policies were first introduced in November 2023 and March 2024 with the initial expiry date of 30 November 2024. The 13-month extension is likely to enhance confidence and boost tourism in the country as eligible travellers have more time to plan their visa-free China trip.

In addition, China travel is set to become even more convenient and affordable with the expansion of international travel routes. The first direct flights between Shanghai and Marseille will take off on 2 July 2024 while flights between China and Bahrain will begin on 28 May 2024. Flights between China and Mexico will resume on 11 May 2024.

As always, our team is ready to assist in planning amazing journeys across China. For more information and up-to-date travel advice, reach out to Asian Trails China.

More news from around Asia
Stay up to date

Get more B2B travel news direct to your inbox.

Sign up for Trailblazer

* indicates required

Start typing and press Enter to search