• News by Country

  • What kind of News

Thailand eases visa entry

Thailand will offer visa-free travel to travellers from 93 countries from 1 June 2024.

This is an increase from the previous 57 countries’ citizens able to enter the kingdom without a visa for stays of up to 60 days.

Countries newly added to the list include Laos, Albania, Cambodia, China, India, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Morocco, Panama, Romania, Sri Lanka and Uzbekistan, among others. The government also approved visa-on-arrival for 31 countries, up from 19 previously.

A new ‘Destination Thailand’ visa will accommodate digital nomads, remote workers and freelancers who want to work and visit tourist destinations through five-year visas valid for stays of up to 180 days and extendable for another 180 days. The regulation was previously only two stays of 30 days each.

The new entry regulations are expected to boost tourism, a sector which accounts for 12 per cent of Thailand’s GDP, according to government data.

For expert travel advice, contact our team at Asian Trails Thailand.

More news from around Asia
Stay up to date

Get more B2B travel news direct to your inbox.

Sign up for Trailblazer

* indicates required

Start typing and press Enter to search