• News by Country

  • What kind of News

China expands Hainan visa-free access

China has expanded its 30-day visa-free access to the island province of Hainan.

Previously, visa-free stays in Hainan were granted for tourism purposes only. Starting from February 2024, following a government announcement, visitors can travel to the island visa-free for other purposes, including business, medical, family visits, exhibitions and sporting events.

The expanded policy is particularly attractive for MICE groups, facilitating smoother and more convenient travel to the nation’s southernmost province.

Citizens of 59 countries are eligible to participate in the visa-free scheme in Hainan, including Russia, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Norway, Ukraine, Italy, Austria, Finland, the Netherlands, Denmark, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, the United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Kazakhstan, the Philippines, Indonesia, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Monaco and Belarus.

Famed for its idyllic beaches, Hainan is a tropical haven with numerous resorts and attractions to impress visitors, including diverse shopping and entertainment options as well as outdoor activities on land and at sea. To enquire about travel requirements or to plan your client’s next journey, reach out to our team at Asian Trails China.

More news from around Asia
Stay up to date

Get more B2B travel news direct to your inbox.

Sign up for Trailblazer

* indicates required

Start typing and press Enter to search